Robert Jenson: Creed, Scripture and their Modern Alienation

by caseybedell

Very excited to watch this.

David Bentley Hart on Robert Jenson:

“A year ago, I was interviewed by a small theological journal concerning a book of mine that had appeared a few months earlier. Near the end of the conversation, my interlocutor asked me if there was any modern American theologian whose thinking I thought especially fascinating, to which I answered Robert Jenson; he then asked if there was any American theologian with whose thought I myself found it especially profitable to struggle, to which I again answered, without a moment’s hesitation, Robert Jenson. At this, my interviewer smiled abashedly and admitted that he had never read any of Jenson’s work. I doubt the severest critic could have found fault with my extravagant show of alarm: How very extraordinary it was, I told him, that an American graduate student of systematic theology should be unacquainted with ‘our’ systematic theologian, and what dereliction it suggested on the part of his teachers, and what a very great pity it all seemed.”

HT: Michael Bird

